Last week, the vinyl version of The Stooges Gimme Danger documentary soundtrack hit the shelves, and to celebrate Rhino Records sent us an amazing prize pack with the following items:

– Gimme Danger vinyl soundtrack
– Gimme Danger documentary DVD
– Gimme Danger full-size movie poster
– Gimme Danger sticker
– Gimme Danger button

To enter the drawing, send an email* with the subject “Stooges” HERE by midnight Thursday, April 21. We will draw a name and notify the winner on Friday, April 22.

Celebrated filmmaker Jim Jarmusch says Gimme Danger – his critically acclaimed documentary about The Stooges – is more an “essay” than a document. “It’s our love letter to possibly the greatest band in rock ‘n’ roll history…”

Named an Official Selection to the New York, Toronto and Cannes film festivals, Gimme Danger presents the band’s story and explores its influences and impact, complete with some never-before-seen footage and photographs. After a run in select theaters, the film will be available via on-demand outlets beginning January 31.

Rhino offers the perfect complement to the film with GIMME DANGER: MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE. The LP version features Stooges songs and has a selection of tracks previously only available on CD and digital formats, including the vinyl debut of the outtake “Lost In The Future.”

The CD version includes 14 songs that focus on the group’s first three studio albums – The Stooges, Fun House, and Iggy and The Stooges’ Raw Power – and feature band members Iggy Pop, Ron and Scott Asheton, Dave Alexander, and James Williamson.

Both Jarmusch and Pop helped select songs for the soundtrack, which mixes indelible studio recordings (“I Wanna Be Your Dog,” “1969” and “Loose”) with rare studio outtakes (“I Got A Right,” “I’m Sick Of You,” and “Asthma Attack”).

Fellow Detroit natives MC5 make an appearance on the collection as well with “Ramblin’ Rose” from the group’s 1969 debut, Kick Out The Jams. The oldest songs on the collection pre-date The Stooges and spotlight Pop with his previous bands, the Iguanas (“Again And Again”) and Prime Movers Blues Band (“I’m A Man”).

Emerging from Ann Arbor, Michigan amidst a countercultural revolution, The Stooges’ powerful and aggressive style of rock-n-roll blew a crater in the musical landscape of the late 1960s. Jarmusch says: “No other band in rock ‘n’ roll history has rivaled The Stooges’ combination of heavy primal throb, spiked psychedelia, blues-a-billy grind…There is no precedent for The Stooges, while those inspired by them are now legion.”

LP Track Listing

Side One
1. “Gimme Danger (Bowie Mix)” – Iggy & The Stooges
2. “I Wanna Be Your Dog” – The Stooges
3. “Loose” – The Stooges
4. “No Fun” – The Stooges
5. “Asthma Attack” – The Stooges

Side Two
1. “I Got A Right” – Iggy & The Stooges
2. “Down On The Street” – The Stooges
3. “Lost In The Future” – The Stooges
4. “I’m Sick Of You” – Iggy & The Stooges
5. “1969” – The Stooges

* One entry per person, NOT per email address. If you have 16 email addresses and you enter with each address, we’ll just delete 15 of them. We have the technology. To be eligible to win, you must live in the Boise metro area and be able to pick up your prize at the store.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *