sleepy seeds publicity photoSleepy Seeds will perform a special album release party preview in-store at 6 p.m. Thursday, June 26, at The Record Exchange (1105 W. Idaho St., Downtown Boise). The band is holding a release party on Saturday, June 28, at the Visual Arts Collective, 3638 Osage St., Garden City. As always, this Record Exchange in-store event is free and all ages!

Sleepy Seeds’ debut self-titled album will be released on Tuesday, June 24, and The Record Exchange will have it for sale on that date!


W139Really, the best way to describe ‘Different’ isn’t in English at all. The term I would use is saudade. It’s a Portuguese word that essentially describes the feeling when you know something beautiful, something you love, has passed, and you’ll never get to feel it again, but its absence stirs great memories and strong feelings. And while that may not be the most apt description, we don’t actually have a single word for it in English, so we have to do some linguistic gymnastics in order to translate it. Regardless, it’s a potent word, infused with feeling, and it just so happens to be the perfect word for ‘Different’ – saudade. Gelatinous Blog


Boise, Idaho, indie rock quartet Sleepy Seeds will release their self-titled debut album on Tuesday, June 24. The album will be available at The Record Exchange. An album release party will be held at 8 p.m. Saturday, June 28 at Visual Arts Collective, 3638 Osage St., Garden City. A Seasonal Disguise and Braided Waves will open. $5 at the door; 21 and older. A free, all-ages preview in-store performance at The Record Exchange will precede the release party at 6 p.m. Thursday, June 26.

Sleepy Seeds (Joey Corsentino, vocals/guitar; Marty Chase Martin, vocals/guitar; Brett Nelson, vocals/bass; Chad Keever, drums) recorded the album in February 2014 with Z.V. House at Ze Cat Shack in Boise, Idaho. Corsentino, Martin and Nelson – the former Built to Spill bassist who joined Sleepy Seeds in early 2013 – each contributed three songs to the album, which also features an Electronic Anthology Project version of “Anxious” as an unlisted bonus track.

For a band with multiple singer/songwriters and only 18 months together as a quartet, Sleepy Seeds deliver a remarkably cohesive debut. Unlike most albums from bands with similar collaborative constructs, questions of who-wrote-what never arise. Sonically and thematically, there’s a fluid continuity to “Sleepy Seeds” due in part to a shared songwriting sensibility, Corsentino’s and Martin’s melodic guitar interplay and the band’s intuitive relationship on and off the stage.

Fittingly, each songwriter had his own distinct-yet-similar take on the band’s creative synchronicity.

Corsentino: “No matter who comes up with the initial idea for the song, the rest of the band knows where to go with it.”

Martin: “We all try to contribute the best of our unique styles, which by chance happen to mesh very well. We don’t consciously set out to write songs in the same style, we just play what feels right.”

Nelson: “Musically, we have a lot of the same influences, and as for me writing bass parts to Joey’s or Marty’s music, it seems second nature and easy — like somehow they wrote the perfect song for my bass playing, even the songs that were written before I joined the band. Thematically, I think we lean toward self-doubt, betrayal and shit in general not going the way you think it should or wish it would.”

The video for the album’s first single “Different,” directed by Jason Sievers (The Posies, Polvo, The Wrens, Boy Eats Drum Machine), is streaming now on Gelatinous Blog and Vimeo. Gelatinous Blog, which praised the album’s “warm, piercing, meandering guitar lines,” debuted the video and featured the song on its “May 2014 Mixtape” compilation.

The video “so perfectly matches the tone of the song,” says Gelatinous Blog, describing “Different” and its accompanying video as “languid and ambling — hazy, saturated and reminiscent of times passed. The memories evoked are bittersweet, doused with heavy helpings of melancholy and nostalgia.”


1. “Open Up” (Martin)
2. “Anxious” (Corsentino)
3. “1,000,001” (Nelson)
4. “Small Disaster” (Corsentino)
5. “Herman” (Martin)
6. “Outside In” (Nelson)
7. “Different” (Martin)
8. “Seldom” (Corsentino)
9. “Standstill” (Nelson)
10. “Anxious” (Electronic Anthology Project version) [unlisted bonus track]

Sleepy Seeds is a collaborative Boise rock band featuring the songwriting talents of Brett Nelson, Marty Chase Martin and Joey Corsentino. Their songs are built upon layers of melodic bass lines and warm guitar wizardry, producing a haunting yet comforting sound that is both steady and dynamic. Each singer contributes a different color and perspective, giving the band versatility within its own cohesive musical atmosphere.

Martin and Corsentino grew up in Colorado and have been creating and playing music together since their teenage years. They were inspired and influenced by numerous ‘90s indie rock bands, including Sebadoh and Built to Spill. Having listened to and befriended several musicians from Idaho (including Nelson), in 2009 they moved to Boise to start a new band in the city’s burgeoning scene. Sleepy Seeds received a warm welcome and has been a part of the Boise music community ever since. Drummer Chad Keever (Vonny Cal, Ugly Tree) joined in 2010, and in 2012, legendary Boise bassist Brett Nelson (Built to Spill, Butterfly Train) came on board.

Sleepy Seeds’ self-titled debut album was recorded by Z.V. House in early 2014 and will be released nationally on June 24. There is a grasshopper on the cover. Nelson, Martin and Corsentino each wrote three songs independently that were fully realized by the band in the studio. The result is an album that reflects the unique individuality of each songwriter while achieving a natural continuity that speaks to the band’s musical alchemy, born through extensive hours of practice and beer drinking mixed in with discussions of “The Karate Kid” trilogy and John Lithgow movies.

Sleepy Seeds perform regularly throughout Idaho and the Northwest and have shared the stage with, among others, Youth Lagoon, Wye Oak, Lower Dens, Maria Taylor, Chuck Prophet, Scout Niblett, Boy Eats Drum Machine and Clem Snide. Sleepy Seeds were a featured artist at Treefort Music Fest in 2013 and 2014.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *